About Us

Dancing Waves, Henry Rajakaruna, Sri Lanka

The National Photographic Art Society of Sri Lanka was formed in the year 1950, just two years after gaining independence to the country from the British Empire. From the very inception it was originated as a national movement, aimed at educating the local enthusiasts in the subject of Photography. The society, a brainchild of Late Mr. Wilson Hegoda, initially catered for the local community in the country, by conducting classes leading to a diploma, not only to its members, but also to the students from schools across the country, free of charge as a community project.

The NPAS is affiliated to the Federation Internationale de L'Art Photographique (FIAP), recognised as the international organisation for the promotion of photographic art, and the NPAS acts as its authorised representative and the operational member for Sri Lanka. Besides, the society is also affiliated to the Photographic Society of America.

The society, being a non-profit motive entity, has been recognised as a charity organisation by the government of Sri Lanka. It is a registered body as a limited liability company, and is administered by a board of directors, elected annually from its general membership. The society is presently actively involved in conducting educational and community related programmes, such as regular classes, workshops, seminars, excursions etc. The local and international exhibitions held annually are highlights of the society and attracts photographic creations from all over the world, in addition to the hundreds of characteristic creations from the Sri Lankan photographers.


The National Photographic Art Society of Sri Lanka was established in 1950, as an autonomous body for the propagation and advancement of photography as an art form, and to disseminate it as a subject of educational interest. Our prime mover in this venture, the founder late Mr. Wilson Hegoda, with the able support of the enthusiasts, late Mr. Nelson Keerthi, Mr. Hilton Samarasinghe, Prof. G.L.R. De Silva and a few other personnel, instituted a group initially named as "Amateur Photographic Association" on 15th February 1950. A month later, it was renamed as "The National Photographic Art Society of Ceylon"

In the year 1959, as a foremost project, conducting classes on photography were started in the vernacular Sinhalese language with free of charge. Since then classes leading to a recognised diploma, are being conducted on a regular basis and are immeasurably successful. This diploma course is also registered under the Tertiary and Vocational Education Commission, which is the regulating body of vocational training in the country.

In the formative years, with the advent of 35 mm cameras and accessories, a circle referred to as "35 mm Camera Club" was organised by the society which won popularity especially amongst the school students and amateur photographers, made way to further popularise the subject.

The year 1961 saw the birth of the island's first monthly journal on photography "Camera" published by the society, in Sinhala medium. It was renamed as "Lanka Camera" with the intention of ensuring a national identity, and re-published in 1997 as a full-fledged quarterly periodical, which catered immensely to the novices of the field.

Dr. P.Thomas, the Asia's representative of the International Federation of Photographic Art, popularly known as the "Federation Internationale de l'Art Photographique (FIAP)", visited Sri Lanka in the year 1968 and being greatly appreciative of the numerous activities conducted by the society, granted its prestigious membership which is a unique honour conferred on photographic societies in any part of the world. NPAS is also a member of the Photographic Society of America (PSA).

The society became a registered corporation under the company registration act, with the name "The National Photographic Art Society of Sri Lanka" in the year 1984. Being a properly constituted organisation, the society is governed by a Board of Directors elected annually at the well-attended Annual General Meeting.

In recognition of our sustenance to the advancement and propagation of photography, and the charitable social service programmes conducted for the wellbeing of the poor and less privileged people in the country the Government of Sri Lanka conferred our society an Approved Charity Organisation in 1987.



Mr. Kanchane Marasinghe



+94 77 7303625

Mr. Saman Kulasooriya

Executive Director


+94 71 4811859

Mr. Keerthi Nissanka

Director Finance


+94 77 7796617

Mr. Saliya Liyanage

Director Registrar


+94 71 3963030

Mr. Rohitha Gunawardena

Director Education


+94 714 400862

Mr. Neranjan Divon

Director Social Service & Welfare


+94 777 187284

Mr. Sanka Sammana Perera

Director Exhibitions


+94 77 7768015

Mr. Thushara D. Samarakoon

Director Development


+94 718280533

Mr. Manujith Katugampola

Director publications


+94 716 450871

Past Presidents

Mr. Hilton Samarasinghe

Prof. G L R De Silva

Mr. L Dayananda

Mr. J A C Jayasuriya

Mr. A A N Amarasinghe

Mr. Lal Hegoda

Mr. H M R Perera

Mr. Mervyn de S. Jayasinghe

Mr. Wijaya Basnayake

Mr. Kanchana Marasinghe

Dr. Uditha G. Gunasekara

Mr. Sunil Wickrama

Mr. Mangala Edirisinghe

Dr. Uditha G. Gunasekara

Hony. Executive Directors

Mr. Wilson Hegoda

Mr. Dinton Jayasuriya

Mr. T.R.W. Weralupitiya

Mr. N.R. Abeysinghe

Mr. T.S.T. de silva

Mr. Shantha Gunarathne

Mr. Harsha Maduranga Jayasekara

Mr. Wijaya Basnayake